Downtown Simon’s Town

Yesterday, well before the sun was up (partly because I misread the time) I arose and, with the early rays of dawn set out for our village, Simon’s Town less than 3 km along the coastal road.

Parking on the Main Street (called “St Georges Street” no less) was a breeze and few pedestrians were about. I had little more than an hour to spare, so strolled leisurely up Wickboom lane, past the Mosque along Thomas Street just above the main road and then down at Rectory Lane.

Of the 15 to 20 pictures I took in this phase, I most liked the shot of a solitary, sharp-thorned Mexican-looking cactus guarding the door of a modest apartment leading onto the alley.

Solitary Cactus
Solitary Cactus

I had been waiting for some time for someone to walk across the entrance to the alley, but only cars crossed my line of vision. So I gave up and took the picture before rigor mortis set in. The sun was a little faint but I liked the perspective and the clear, though simple, colour palette. It also captured a kind of austere, faded elegance.

Thomas Street itself has items of historical interest and photograph-friendly views but I could not conjure up anything that really caught my imagination. Back on the Main Road I snapped some pedestrians against a backdrop of flags and warm sunlight at the end of the pavement.

Main Road, Simon's Town
Main Road, Simon’s Town

The second half of this shoot took in Jubilee Square (by now you will have picked up the colonial history of Simon’s Town) which is fronted by the small boat harbour and lined North and South by shops and cafes. A feature of the square is the line of mainly Zimbabwean vendors selling their brightly coloured beads under the watchful eye of Just Nuisance, a legendary Great Dane with a naval background.

IMG_2841
Willie from Zimbabwe

After chatting for a while they were happy to have their pictures taken – see Today’s Favorite Images, right-hand column. Walking from the Square onto the dockside, a strategically situated ship’s anchor served as a convenient frame for the Simon’s Town waterfall – down which a meagre tickle of water flows for much of the year but after the winter rains becomes an impressive torrent.

Framed
Framed

I reduced the exposure of the whole image and then brightened – fairly subtly I hope – the waterfall and its surrounds while sharpening at the same time. It gives the effect of a view through a lens, sharper and brighter than expected, operating just below the conscious level. Potentially corny, I think it comes off rather nicely.

Most of these images are on my Flickr page and some are in the right-hand column. I obtained 10 to 12 useable images in the course of this walk which, for me at least, is not bad. Don’t forget: right click to see higher res. image in a new tab.

Before ending, I would like to introduce readers to a local website, Nature on The Edge, created by Liz Hardman. Liz is a keen photographer with a gift for words, an adventurous past, plenty of energy and imagination and a passion for our environment. All these talents are displayed on her website. I have joined and you too should take a careful look at what Liz has to offer.

Till next time.

Mike Berger

 

Leave a Reply

