Second Glances

Time passes and I’m easily distracted like a kid in a candy store filled with tempting delights. Serving the same function as cold showers and swims this blog is a device for keeping my nose to the grindstone and my feet on the ground…you get the idea.

Alain de Button
Alain de Button

But I did finish that intellectual and artistic smorgasbord “The Art of Travel” by de Button. I checked him out on Wiki and to my surprise he is Jewish by birth though clearly cosmopolitan by inclination with extraordinarily wide intellectual interests. Unlike most of us with wandering inclinations he has achieved fame (or at least minor celebrity status), scholarly respectability and wealth. Good on him!

But he had it wrong when he suggested that photography dulled the eye and the senses. Perhaps that may be true for the happy snapper but for any moderately serious photographer, indeed for any visual artist,  one’s vocation sharpens and trains the organ of perception.

Jogger
Jogger

A small case in point. Not many weeks ago I found myself close to the Rondebosch common at dusk. Now dawn throws up some striking scenes and I wondered what late afternoon would bring, so I grabbed my camera and a monopod and took myself to the small copse of alien pines abutting Campground road. The golden light was charming but I found some difficulty in adequately capturing the spirit of the grassland beyond the treeline  and the light filtering through the trees themselves.

Eventually in frustration I turned the camera on to the pavement joggers while I lurked unseen in the shadows.

Jogger 2
Jogger 2

Given the fading light and a slowish lens the exposure times were too long to capture the moment, but my reward came during processing. Around some of the faces at least there were a series of haloes – auras one may call them – which added an element of mystery and the bizarre to what may otherwise have been charming but ordinary images of runners back lit by golden light. Some examples follow below.

Jogger 3
Jogger 3
Aura
Aura

Mike Berger 11 Aug 2013

 (Remember – right click on image and open full size in separate window)

Leave a Reply

